UK Government Release: Public consultation on trade negotiations with Australia and New Zealand

Many individuals identified greater MRPQs and a reciprocal streamlined visa system as being their priority, with respondents calling for movement of professionals and workers between Australia and UK to be prioritised. One respondent stated that they would like to see the UK join the Trans-Tasman Travel Arrangement (TTTA) which could facilitate intra-company transfers in areas of mutual benefit to both economies.

CANZUK Reaches International News in the Czech Republic

You know the CANZUK movement is really beginning to take off, when non-CANZUK nations begin to report about it in their international news. Today the following article was released by a Czech newspaper:

The article is available (in Czech language) using the link below but unfortunately the full article is pay-walled:

The article appears to discuss the merits of the common sense CANZUK grouping but then compares CANZUK as a country to the USA and China.

Boris Johnson is Asked About the UK’s Relationship with Canada, Australia and New Zealand

How will you develop our post-Brexit relationships with Canada, Australia and New Zealand? What specific initiatives do you pursue and how will you promote them to the British Public as an advantage of Brexit?

Tom Cannon

Our relationships with Canada, Australia and New Zealand are already fantastically close. I remember proposing ages ago that there should be a five eyes visa, unfortunately it didn’t find favour with the Home Office at the time as far as I can remember. People don’t realise quite how close these relations are particularly on intelligence and security and on defence. I was up in Govan, the other day looking at the building of these incredible new frigates, we are selling 9 of them to Australia, we are selling them to Canada and we’re going to sell them to New Zealand and all we’ve got to do is sell them to Donald Trump and we’ve done all five of the five eyes and that is a measure, that business is going to generate jobs for Glasgow, literally for the next generation, for decades to come there is a pipeline for the fantastic work because of the closeness of our relationships with Canada, Australia, New Zealand and the United States so that it is an area that is full of possibilities. And we should also by the way also be championing with the Commonwealth countries, 53 Commonwealth Countries whose growth rates, many of them far surpass the growth rates of the EU. We have massive Global Opportunities and we should seize them now.

Boris Johnson

Australian Defence Minister Expresses Close Ties between Australia and the UK

Australia’s new Defence Minister expresses Australian sentiment for closer defence ties with the United Kingdom, highlighting the fact that the Australia-United Kingdom relationship is among the strongest relationship between two countries in the world despite the two countries having the greatest geographical separation. She also highlights the fact that this geographic separation is becoming less relevant day by day as new technologies arise, for example direct flights of less than a day between the UK and Australia are now routine.

Britain should be ‘more militarily engaged’ in the Asia-Pacific region. Few countries can claim ties as close as those between Australia and the UK. We operate and fight together. In short, we trust each other.

Linda Reynolds – Australian Defence Minister

She highlights the enthusiasm for the UK’s participation in the Five Powers Defence Arrangement (FPDA). The five powers include Australia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom (ANZUK forces), alongside Singapore and Malaysia and states that Australia stands, ready to facilitate and support British forces operating in the area.

Naval Ensigns of the Five Powers Defence Arrangement

The full article is available on the Daily Telegraph:

It should be noted that the call for greater co-operation from Australia comes at a time when tensions are already high within the region. In Hong Kong, city wide protests have been intensifying due to China’s impeachment on the “One Country: Two Political Systems” via the Extradition Bill. The United Kingdom and Canada have already issued a joint statement in light of he proposed changes to the extradition law.

However protesters have not been satisfied with this and have been highlighting that they want more engagement explicitly from the CANZUK countries.

Protesters Raise Hong Kong Blue Ensign in Government Building Defacing Post 1996 Hong Kong emblem (when Hong Kong was handed back to China, against its expressed will). This shows a clear rejection for the Chinese political system and preference for a Common Law Political System. This move also boldly highlights that Hong Kong also clearly desires re-establishment of ties with the CANZUK countries and the Commonwealth.
The Five Powers Defence Arrangement and Hong Kong

Although the CANZUK treaty which calls for freedom of movement, mutual defence arrangements and CANZUK foreign policy proposed by the Canadian Conservative Party has not yet been ratified. CANZUK foreign policy has clearly been recognised by Hong Kong with 12,000 supporters signing a petition to allow British National Overseas citizens to emigrate to CANZUK countries: