CANZUK Nations Write Joint Letter to United Nations Human Rights Council to Seek a Special Envoy for Hong Kong

The Chair of the Foreign Affairs Select Committee, UK (Tom Tugendhat MP), has today joined his counterparts from Australia (Senator the Hon David Fawcett), Canada (Michael Levitt MP) and New Zealand (Simon O’Connor MP) in writing to the United Nations and each country’s Prime Minister, to express their concerns over a planned security law for Hong Kong which would make it a crime to undermine the Chinese Government’s authority.

This is one of the first times the Parliament UK Website explicitly mentions the acronym CANZUK which is a huge boost to the CANZUK movement. CANZUK is an acronym for Canada, Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom and the use of the term in regard to a joint foreign policy declaration within the United Nations (UN) is quite fitting as the term was first coined within the UN due to the four countries typically voting collectively as a block.

The full text of the letter can be found below:

In addition to a letter to the Prime Minister Boris Johnson:

Boris Johnson has wrote an article on Hong Kong.

Britain would then have no choice but to uphold our profound ties of history and friendship with the people of Hong Kong.

Today, about 350,000 of the territory’s people hold British National (Overseas) passports and another 2.5 million would be eligible to apply for them. At present, these passports allow visa-free access to the United Kingdom for up to six months.

If China imposes its national security law, the British government will change our immigration rules and allow any holder of these passports from Hong Kong to come to the UK for a renewable period of 12 months and be given further immigration rights, including the right to work, which could place them on a route to citizenship.

This would amount to one of the biggest changes in our visa system in history. If it proves necessary, the British government will take this step and take it willingly.

The Second Reading of the Trade Bill 2020 by International Trade Secretary

Negotiations with the US and Japan on an enhanced trade agreement have already kicked off. We are also prioritising signing FTAs with Australia and New Zealand and accession to the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP)

Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam are signatories to the CPTPP.

Petitions Parliament UK Has Relaunched So We Launched a CANZUK Petition

CANZUK: Enter talks with Australia to join the Trans-Tasman Travel Agreement

Enter talks with Australia and New Zealand to join the Closer Economic Relations and Trans-Tasman Travel area. These countries share a common language, similar culture, comparable standards of living, healthcare systems, food standards, common law political systems and even the same head of state.

Canada, Australia and New Zealand are the United Kingdom’s closest allies. Now that we have left the EU, a CANZUK treaty should be top priority for the UK government. This is also the flagship foreign policy of the Canadian Conservative Party. It is supported by the New Zealand ACT party and has been polled to have 2/3 support in all four countries. There is more British emigration to these three countries than the EU and USA combined. This should be formalised in our immigration policy.